I Have The Biggest Salt Lick In The Barn!!!!

Standard

It’s true!  It is HUGE! And it is PINK! And it is on a rope, which means it is almost like having a toy!!  I must be one special horse to get an amazing salt lick like this.  All the other horses say to me “Huey! I want to share your salt lick! Let me come over!” but I just say “No.  I do not want any other horse to put cooties there.  It is mine.

You Know Who was hassling me about my Special Salt Lick.  He told me it was a mistake, and it was really supposed to be his Salt Lick.  I told him I knew he was lying, and I went over to lick it some more.  I made nice, loud, licky sounds, just so he would know I was enjoying my special pink salt.  He was mad and said that next time he was in my stall, he was going to sneeze on it.  He is gross, and I told him so.  Then he just ran around his paddock with his tail in the air and his neck all puffed out and bragged about how he is part Percheron, is if that is something to be proud of.

I had to get new shoes.  The farrier is nice but I do not like having my feet up in the air that much.  AND I had just finished working.  I wanted to be a Very Good Horse, and stupid Max was teasing me and saying that only foals have to use my farrier.  Max uses a different farrier, and he says his farrier is better.  But Max is still a pest.  You should see him when the farrier comes!  He cannot stand still and he does not pick up his foot, and he rolls his eyes around and makes them show white!  That is because he is scared.  I know!  He cannot fool me!  But I can stand still and I put my foot down and I do not try to take it back unless there is a fly to stomp.  I hate flies.  My farrier has a special Horse Foot Pedestal and I am so proud, I can put my foot right on top of that!  And then I look like a circus horse!  Anyway, I have nice shiny new shoes and pretty shiny hoofs. I am a Pretty Horse, too.

But there I was, minding my own business and licking my pink salt in my stall, and Max came into the barn. I thought he was going to have to work because he went into the ties, but then he just stood there.  I did not know what was going on, until guess who showed up?  The VET.  “Ha ha ha” I said. “Here comes the vet, and he is coming for you Max!  Ha ha ha.  You better let him pick up your feet this time, or you are really going to get into trouble!”  Max was mad and said that he did not have to pick up his feet for the vet.  But he was not sick, either, and it is not time for the shots yet.  We all make a line by the truck when it is time for shots, and only Max was out.  It was very strange.  All of the other horses put their heads over the walls so they could watch, too.

We watched that vet look at every square inch of stinky old Max, and he couldn’t do anything about it!  He just had to stand there while we all watched.  And then the vet made Max go in the ring and run around.  And then I knew what was going on!  Oh, my gosh!  Someone else was there, and they watched Max, and I know this because I just did this myself.  Max was getting a new rider.   He was not going to be Laura’s horse any more!!  And I was right!  The vet said OK and the other person said OK and then Laura said OK.  And now Max has gone away.

I am so depressed! Max was my BFF!!! This is terrible!!! I know, you are thinking “But Huey, you hate Max!”  and well, I do.  He stinks and he tries to get me in trouble all the time and he makes fights and he puts cooties on my blanket and he threatens to eat my hay.  But none of that matters now!  I cannot believe he has gone!!!  And to make it worse, now I am wondering if I have to go too!  The vet came and looked at me ages ago, and the rider was there, and the vet said OK and the rider said OK and Laura said OK, but I did not have to leave…yet.  I am going to be so depressed if I have to go!  Unless I can take my special pink salt and my new blankets.  And Bug and Clay, that would be good if I could go with them, too.  Or maybe I do not have to go.  I hope not.

I am wearing a big smile on the outside, but I am sad where you can't see.

About Lori Holder-Webb

I'm a Southern Woman by birth and a Texan Woman by upbringing...and yet I find myself living in New England and married to a New York City boy. Up here we use the same currency as we do at home, and I don't need to travel with a passport, but the commonalities pretty much end there. The language is different, the jokes are different, the people are different, and the weather and terrain sure are different too. I moved away from Texas in 2002, and ever since then, I've been the stranger in the strange land... I've had some questions about the name of the blog - if you were not alive, or living abroad or under a rock, or in grad school during the late 1980s, Oldsmobile attempted to shuck its stodgy image with a series of commercials intended to bring brand appeal to the younger generation: this car, they said, is not your father's Oldsmobile. If you have a morbid curiosity, hit YouTube for William Shatner Oldsmobile...it will take you right there.

Leave a Reply

