Come Ski With Me…

Standard

Thanks to Greg “Daddy-O Santa Claus” Goodman, I have a brand new helmet cam with which to record my Alpine Exploits.  The day held little promise, with a snow report of “Machine Groomed/Frozen Granular” (translation: pulverized ice, except where it’s just sheets of ice), but as I say, Any Skiing Is Better Than No Skiing, and off I went.  I was happy to find that the snow report had lied to us.  Unlike everyone else’s snow report, which lies to make conditions look better than they really are, the Mount Snow report today lied and promised shitty conditions, while the mountain actually delivered great ones.

The expectation: Ice

The reality: Packed powder and nice soft loose crud.

So here, brought to you courtesy of Daddy-O Goodman*, is a short ski vacation.

*As provider of the camera equipment, Daddy-O bears no responsibility whatsoever for the content of these videos.

A late edit.  It is astonishing how the videos make it look like I was skiing on slightly angled football fields.  Thus, here is a photograph of the main face with the trail from the first video pointed out in red.

About Lori Holder-Webb

I'm a Southern Woman by birth and a Texan Woman by upbringing...and yet I find myself living in New England and married to a New York City boy. Up here we use the same currency as we do at home, and I don't need to travel with a passport, but the commonalities pretty much end there. The language is different, the jokes are different, the people are different, and the weather and terrain sure are different too. I moved away from Texas in 2002, and ever since then, I've been the stranger in the strange land... I've had some questions about the name of the blog - if you were not alive, or living abroad or under a rock, or in grad school during the late 1980s, Oldsmobile attempted to shuck its stodgy image with a series of commercials intended to bring brand appeal to the younger generation: this car, they said, is not your father's Oldsmobile. If you have a morbid curiosity, hit YouTube for William Shatner Oldsmobile...it will take you right there.

2 responses »

  1. Looks fun, but I’ll leave the skiing to you. I tried it once. After 1/2 day of lessons, I successfully managed to make snow go up my back (move forward, fall over backwards on the skis, collect snow under the jacket…). I told my instructor he was great, but he and the rest of my class could go on to the slopes without me. I was taking my worn out knees and freezing Texan backside to the lodge for a warm fire, hot coffee Irish Cream, and planned shopping for the rest of the day. 😉

    Snow is beautiful. I’d rather have a snowball fight.

    However, I will admit, I’ve been told I should try cross-country skiing sometime instead of downhill, and I’d have better luck. What are your thoughts?

    • I have two thoughts:
      1. If you tried to learn to ski before the late 1990s or early 2000s, it might be worth another try. There was a gigantic revolution in ski design around then that resulted in skiing getting MUCH much easier. Skis are now wider and shorter than they used to be, and knees don’t really come into it at all any more. Just sayin’ if you wanted to take the kid out some time to ride some snow, you might be able to accompany him. Not that there’s anything wrong at all with hanging in the lodge and shopping…I do plenty of that too! (Especially now that our base lodge obtained a Photo Booth and now that I get a fat discount on resort shops with my season pass)

      2. XC is the BOMB. It is way less scary to learn than alpine. The gear is lighter and cheaper, the trail fees are much less expensive (XC touring areas use much less equipment than alpine ones, no lifts!). It’s very easy to learn enough to get around and have fun. It’s quiet. You’re out in the woods – and if you’re not at an area that is crowded with first-time skiers from New York City or Boston – it’s quiet, peaceful, mellow. Plenty of opportunity to stop, take in the scenery, inspect animal tracks, catch your breath, have a snack or a drink, watch the sun come down through the snow-covered tree branches. It’s the most aerobically intensive exercises you can do – they did a study on the aerobic capacity of Olympians to see whether runners or swimmers were the top, and the nordic skiers blew them both right out of the water. I love XC skiing. I just love alpine skiing more. Jeff does both, but he’s got a strong marginal preference for XC skiing. He’s as good for an XC skier as I am for an alpine skier. Fortunately, there’s a very nice touring center right across the road from my downhill ski area, so (in a typical winter) about 2/3 the time he’ll drop me off and go tour, the other 1/3 the time he’ll come with me. I say “typical winter” because the winter weather here has sucked rotten eggs, and he’s only been able to XC ski twice so far this season, due to there being No Snow at the touring center. The alpine areas make snow (as you can see happening in the videos) so it’s a more predictable experience.

      3. A third possibility to put on the table is snowshoeing. There’s a lot of overlap in Awesomeness between XC touring and snowshoeing. Snowshoeing just requires a pair of snowshoes, a good warm waterproof pair of boots (we use LL Bean duck boots), and warm clothes that you won’t overheat in. I like to use waterproof shell pants too, because if the snow is loose then it tends to get cast up the back of my legs. But it’s awesome.

      Pretty much all of the above is available at any place people go for cold-weather winter vacations. And then there’s the sleigh rides, of course…

Leave a Reply

