Hooray! It’s Spring!

Standard

I tell you what. I thought it was going to be so great when my rider said I was getting a bunch of time off.  It is boring always going in the ring.  My rider said I could go on the trail, but there are bugs there.  I hate bugs.  Going in the ring wasn’t anywhere near as boring as just hanging out in my paddock all winter.  It felt like winter was a whole year long!

Lately it has been interesting because the farrier came and said my hoofs were beautiful (I knew that already but it is nice to hear it).  And the chiropractor came and made my back go POP! and it felt good.  And my rider said the V-word is coming soon.  I am not looking forward to that because I think it is Shot Time and I do not like a Shot.  But at least it is not totally boring.

Also, I have been learning something new!  Laura and my rider took me into a ring that is like the arena but it is a lot smaller and it is round and only one horse goes there at a time.  Glee has been living in that ring instead of a paddock all winter because he cries like a foal if he can’t see into the barn.  He is a silly horse.

But he is not living in there now.  Instead, I went in.  My rider lunged me there before so I thought we were going to do that, even though lunging is boring.  But instead? She took my halter off.  I was totally naked in that ring!  No halter, no blanket, no tack! I was so happy I ran around in circles.   Then Laura started teaching me stuff.  It was very confusing.  She made me go this way, and then I had to go that way, and then I had to stop.  I had to pay very careful attention to her to know what she wanted!  Then I had to follow her around.   I think she wanted me to touch her, but I do not like touching people now because of all of the ZAP that has been going on around here.  My rider was there too but she did not say much to me.  She talked to Laura though.

I had to go out into that little ring again yesterday.  Only this time Laura was on the outside of the ring and only my rider was in the middle with me, but I was naked again! I was worried about what to do, because I do not always understand what my rider wants.  I do not think she speaks very good Horse.  Sometimes she scares me, but I don’t think she means it.  But I still get scared.  So I was not sure, and then she pointed and waved the rope, so I knew to go that way.  And it was like before, go this way, go that way, stop, come here.  I don’t know what all that is for, but it is more interesting than the paddock!

Today, my rider came in the middle of the day.  I thought we were going to go in the little ring again, but there was another horse there, a new mare, and she went in the ring with Laura instead.  So I thought maybe I was just going to get another boring massage and do a carrot stretch.  But guess what?  My rider brushed me and went away, and when she came back, she was wearing her Special Hat.  The one she wears when we go riding.  I started to get a little excited, and then guess what?  She brought out my saddle and showed it to me.  Then I knew we were going riding, and I was so happy!  Riding is so much more interesting than just hanging out in the paddock!  I was never so happy to see my bridle, and I put my head right down to make it easier to eat the bit.  Yay!

We did not ride long because the rider said she did not want to hurt my back. I said I was a big strong horse, but she said she was the boss and don’t argue, so I didn’t. We could have gone longer. The best part was when I made little circles like the rider wanted and it was easy. Her seat is easier for me to understand than her shoulders are. But I made the circles and she said I was the  Wonder Horse. It is good to be the Wonder Horse.

Then we did some stretches and I got a cookie and we went back to the paddock.  Elvis was there with his big butt blocking the gate. My rider made him move off and we went in.  Elvis got in my way. I said Elvis, move, you dummy. I am the Wonder Horse.

He said You are not my Wonder Horse, Huey!

So I screamed YOU SHOULD NOT BE SO RUDE, ELVIS!

And he screamed I AM NOT RUDE HUEY! YOU ARE!

And I was about to tell him just what a Not Wonder Horse he is, but, guess what? We both forgot something.

That something was that the rider was still standing right there. She does not want us horses to argue when she is in the paddock. She says we forget ourselves and it is dangerous.  Maybe she is right.

But there she was and us two dummies standing there and screaming at each other. She made the rope go like a snake and made Elvis run that way and I had to go the other way. Then she left.

It has been being a good day!

This is me. It says I am the Wonder Horse. I want to go riding and be the Wonder Horse again real soon!

About Lori Holder-Webb

I'm a Southern Woman by birth and a Texan Woman by upbringing...and yet I find myself living in New England and married to a New York City boy. Up here we use the same currency as we do at home, and I don't need to travel with a passport, but the commonalities pretty much end there. The language is different, the jokes are different, the people are different, and the weather and terrain sure are different too. I moved away from Texas in 2002, and ever since then, I've been the stranger in the strange land... I've had some questions about the name of the blog - if you were not alive, or living abroad or under a rock, or in grad school during the late 1980s, Oldsmobile attempted to shuck its stodgy image with a series of commercials intended to bring brand appeal to the younger generation: this car, they said, is not your father's Oldsmobile. If you have a morbid curiosity, hit YouTube for William Shatner Oldsmobile...it will take you right there.

Leave a Reply

