I Am Not A Texas Horse.

Standard

Well, all kind of interesting things have been happening here!  First, my saddle is a LOT better now!!  I got it right after I got a new rider a long time ago, and it was a good saddle, although it was weird.  There is more of it than there used to be when I was a jumping horse.  And the girth was tickly.  I used to try to bite it but I got used to it after a while.  The thing I did not ever get used to was the pinchy part under my withers.  I have very high withers.  I think this is a Sign of being the Wonder Horse, because everyone admires them!  They stand around and say Wow! Those are the highest withers I have ever seen! and I say Yes, that is because I am a special horse!!  They are so high that people talk about them all the time.  The only problem with my withers is that the saddles can get kind of pinchy sometimes.  My saddle was not pinchy on my withers, but it was pinchy near there.  I told my rider she should do something about that, but she only said I will, Huey, but we have to ride in this saddle and mash it down for a while first.

I guess we mashed it down enough, because not very long ago, my rider put me into the cross ties and cleaned me up, but she was not dressed for riding, so I thought it might just be for fun.  I knew it was not for another bath, because I had one of those already, when I told my rider that I could kick someone, and she made me not.  So there I was in the ties thinking that it would be a good idea to go outside and eat some grass, maybe, and what do you know, a person I never saw before was there, and he said Oh my word, would you look at those withers! And I said Yes! They are very high!! And then he put things on my back that made a tickle.  I turned my head to watch, but my rider said Huey, you must look straight ahead, because this is the person who is going to fix your saddle!! And I said My saddle is getting fixed?  I thought that would not ever happen!!

But it did.  There was that man, and there was my rider, and there was the saddle, and the did a bunch of things to it, and then I had to try it on.  But my rider did not ride me.  Laura did!  She hardly ever rides me, not in ages!!  And, between you and me, that is kind of a good thing because she is a MUCH better rider than my real rider is, and that means that what she says, I have to do, right away.  With my rider, she does not usually tell me what to do, she asks me to do something, and I like that because then I can say Are you sure? or I do not feel like doing that right now.   And sometimes she can make me do it, but mostly she cannot.

This is the best thing about having a rider that is not very good.  The other is that I am teaching this rider how to ride, and so she will ride me the way I want to be ridden.  And that is without much of that messing around with the bit and my mouth, and almost no kicking.  I do not like to be kicked.

But I know better than to say to Laura Are you sure, because I know that she is.  And when I said I do not feel like doing that right now, she made me do it anyway.  So that is not as much fun.  It is more work.

But, here is the very good thing.  That person fixed the saddle really good!!!!  It is much nicer now!!  For one, I was always very good about listening to the things my rider says with her seat, and now, it is much easier to hear that!  For two, my rider said Huey! I can hear your back!! I could not do that before!  And this is all good, because it means that I do not have to ask What are you saying to me, rider? because it is a lot more clear now, and I know.  That is good.  I like to know.  For another, it is just a lot more comfortable, which is good, because we are starting to do some work now.  Up until now it has just been a lot of poky things.  But now, we are trotting for ages and we are even doing some cantering.

My rider is still not very good at cantering.  She bounces a lot.  That is not fun for me.  But she bounces a little less, and today, we went for a while and she hardly bounced at all.  I was doing my best Teaching Canter for her, and she was doing a very good Learning Canter for me, and usually we can only go a little way because I think she is going to get unbalanced and if I think that, the right thing is to STOP.  She told me that, and I am a Good and Smart Horse, and I listened.  So usually we have to stop very soon.  This rider would not have been able even to go from one jump to another, not even over any jumps, she is that much of a baby.  But today, we went all the way around the ring.  That is a first for us!!  Well, it is not really a first because there was that other time, and that was not so good, but this was the first time we meant to go all the way around the ring, and she did not fall off!  And she did not get shaky to make me stop, and then she said WOOOOO!!!  And I said What are you saying up there Rider? and she said We are having FUN Huey!!! so I knew it was OK to keep going.  Then I got a huge pat, but I did not get any treats and I did not get any grass.  I did get a big pile of hay in my paddock, and my rider gave my face a very good rub, so I was happy.

After my saddle got fixed, my rider went away.  I did not like that much.  She said Huey, I have to go away for a while.  There is a good rider that will come help you get exercise, though.  But I said Why are you going away? And she said it was a Vacation.  I said What is that? But she did not tell me.  She just went off.  The good piece there is that I did have another rider for a little while, and that other ride is a lot better than my rider.  And I have a Hay Net now!  I do not know if I like that Hay Net.  It is good and bad.  The bad part is that I can only eat a few tiny pieces of hay at a time, and I have to work to pull them out of that net.  The good part is that now I have hay for a lot longer than I used to!  Also, I do not get a lot of shavings into the hay.  That is good.  So I had a Hay Net, and I have a new Sticky Ball.  I was very happy to see that because the Sticky Ball is tasty, and sweet, and it it is fun.  I got very excited, and got a bunch of the Sticky Ball on my ear, which was not so good.  I do not like it when the Sticky Ball gets on my face or in my ear or in my nose and then dries up.  It is prickly, and it means I have to have my face washed.  Today I had to have my face washed, and my ear washed.  I put my head way up into the air so my rider would know that I do not like getting my ear washed.  But she just said Huey, put your head down!  I have to get the Sticky Ball out of your ear so it will stop itching!  She was right, I did not like the itching part, so I put my head down.

It was not as bad as I thought it would be, getting my ear washed.

Then just the other day I did not see my rider all day because it was raining.  Sometimes she comes even if it is raining, and we do stuff together, like have the farrier come, or get a massage.  But that day, she came late in the afternoon.  I said Rider! Where have you been! and she said It was raining and I had to do a bunch of other things, but I am here now!  She was not dressed for riding, either.  And there were a bunch of other horses all going riding in the ring, and we do not go in there when it is a bunch of other horses. I said It is time for me to go into the barn, Rider!! but she just said Not yet, Huey.  She said she had a treat for me, and she made it come out of her pocket.  It was a big wet thing the size and color of an apple, but it did not smell like an apple.  She held it out.  I said What is that thing? And she said It is from a watermelon.  I said What is a watermelon? And she said It is a big sweet thing like a huge apple.  The texas horses eat them like they are apples!  The texas horses think they are very good!

So I took a bite, and it was not an apple.  It was not a carrot either.  It was only a little sweet, and it did not taste like anything I knew.  I dropped it from my mouth onto the ground.

I am not a texas horse, I said. I am a jumping horse.

It was very disappointing, that watermelon.  I thought I was getting a treat, but it was only kind of wet and crunchy.  At least then my rider took me into the barn, and I got to play with my Hay Net!

I am not sure what a texas horse is, but I think they are weird for that watermelon thing. They should try some real treats like an apple or a carrot. THAT is what I like!

About Lori Holder-Webb

I'm a Southern Woman by birth and a Texan Woman by upbringing...and yet I find myself living in New England and married to a New York City boy. Up here we use the same currency as we do at home, and I don't need to travel with a passport, but the commonalities pretty much end there. The language is different, the jokes are different, the people are different, and the weather and terrain sure are different too. I moved away from Texas in 2002, and ever since then, I've been the stranger in the strange land... I've had some questions about the name of the blog - if you were not alive, or living abroad or under a rock, or in grad school during the late 1980s, Oldsmobile attempted to shuck its stodgy image with a series of commercials intended to bring brand appeal to the younger generation: this car, they said, is not your father's Oldsmobile. If you have a morbid curiosity, hit YouTube for William Shatner Oldsmobile...it will take you right there.

Leave a Reply

