Why Being A Horse Mom Is Being A Mom (part 14)

Standard

*sound of phone being dialed*
*busy tone*

Sigh
<pause>

*sound of phone being dialed*
*busy tone*

Sigh
<pause>

*sound of phone being dialed*
*busy tone*

Sigh
<pause>

*sound of phone being dialed*
*ring-ring*
Hello! Vet’s office, how may I help you?
It’s complicated.  My horse has developed little white spots on his muzzle.  They didn’t used to be there, but I’m not totally sure when they arrived.  One of the other horses in the barn has a little white spot near its eye, but it might not have anything to do with my horse’s white spots.

Can I get your name?
Sure.

Oh, I see the vet is scheduled to be out tomorrow.
Yes, but the owner of the other horse that had one little white spot made that appointment, but the vet dropped some ointment off on Friday for that horse and now the other owner isn’t sure that he needs to see that horse’s spot.  But I’m not totally clear on this.

*Sound of laughter*
Because this is all happening with text messages.

*more laughter*
*laughter*

You did say it was complicated!
So if whatever the vet dropped off Friday is working for the other horse’s spot, then I don’t know if I need to have him come out and check Huey’s white spots.  They don’t seem to be itchy.  I don’t want to drag him all the way out here for something that isn’t actually a problem.

Well, he is going to be in [nearby town] anyway tomorrow afternoon.  So it’s not going to be making a special trip.
OK.

<thinking about totally reasonable, yet undeniably painful, charge for house call>

Here’s another complication.  My horse was just on a course of antibiotics. I think these white spots came up around that time, but I’m not totally sure.  I don’t know if they have anything to do with the antibiotics.

*laughter*
It really is complicated, isn’t it?
No kidding.
You’re in luck.  The vet is actually here right now.  Let me go ask him.

<pause>
<pause>
<pause>

Nope, he says the antibiotics shouldn’t make him get spots anywhere, certainly not on the muzzle.

<damn>

OK, then send him on out!  What time should I expect him?
Around 3:30.
Great.  See him then.

*click*
*sound of phone being dialed*

Hello?
Hi honey.
Hey!
You know that movie we were going to see tomorrow afternoon?
Yep.
It’s off.
Why?
Huey. Vet.
Oh, OK.  See you later.

*click*
*sound of checkbook opening*

I hope that whatever this is is NOT contagious, or permanent.  Naturally, I have been scouring the web, because where else do you get Quality Medical Advice for Weird Health Conditions?

I think it looks like vitiligo, which is neither contagious nor curable, unless you buy the “clinical” results that say that certain vitamin and mineral deficiencies can cause it and thus remedy it.    But he seems kind of old for a first-go at vitiligo, unless he’s not getting enough of some nutrient from his hay.

Or maybe it is ringworm, which IS contagious, and which will be a PITA because then I think I’d have to shampoo his muzzle with some medicated thing daily or give him a daily bath, and I’ll bet that “some medicated thing” both 1) smells bad to him and 2) is expensive.

Or maybe it’s a fungus that he picked up from some grass he got into.

Or maybe it’s an allergic reaction to some grass he got into.

Or maybe it’s the signs of infection by space aliens.

It’s just as well the vet is coming. House call fee or no.

dirty_huey03

Old picture: Note presence of dirt, hay, and cheery insouciant attitude, and absence of large number of small white dots.

About Lori Holder-Webb

I'm a Southern Woman by birth and a Texan Woman by upbringing...and yet I find myself living in New England and married to a New York City boy. Up here we use the same currency as we do at home, and I don't need to travel with a passport, but the commonalities pretty much end there. The language is different, the jokes are different, the people are different, and the weather and terrain sure are different too. I moved away from Texas in 2002, and ever since then, I've been the stranger in the strange land... I've had some questions about the name of the blog - if you were not alive, or living abroad or under a rock, or in grad school during the late 1980s, Oldsmobile attempted to shuck its stodgy image with a series of commercials intended to bring brand appeal to the younger generation: this car, they said, is not your father's Oldsmobile. If you have a morbid curiosity, hit YouTube for William Shatner Oldsmobile...it will take you right there.

Leave a Reply

