It Is Being A Very Merry Christmas!!

Standard

First, it has been snowing!!!  You know I am a loving the snow horse.  That is because it like being water that you eat.  I am liking to put my lips on that snow and snuffle it up into my mouth! I am also liking to be rolling in that snow, even though it is not as good because I am having to wear my jacket all the time.  So I am loving the snow.

Today my rider came.  I said It has been a very long time since you were here, rider.  Also, you are smelling very interesting.

And she said Yes I know.  I could not come because of the snow.  I cannot drive my car in it and it is too far from my house to where you live to walk.  But I was missing you.

So I said And you are having some kind of interesting thing there? In your pocket?  Maybe it is something interesting for a horse?

And she said Yes, later. So I said That is OK.  And then she took me into the barn.  I thought it was going to be one of those standing around bored things where all I do is get brushed and cleaned and then sent back out to get dirty again. And I was right.  Mostly.

This is being a good thing, though!  My rider gave me a huge butt scratch and said Huey.  You know those pictures?

And I said Yes.  I do not want to make more of them.

But she said Well, Huey. A lot of people saw them.  And they said you are beautiful.  Everyone thinks you are a handsome horse.

I said They know that from making pictures?

And she said Yes.

Well.  I did not know that making pictures would let a lot of people know how handsome I am.  I just thought it was a boring thing to do.  But if it is making people know that I, Huey, am one handsome horse then you know what?

I will be making MORE of them!!!!!!!

That is because I am liking everyone to know how handsome and beautiful I am.

So that was interesting.  Then I was standing around being bored like usual, and you know what I saw?

I saw the ring.  I usually can see the ring from the barn.  But today you know what it was?  That ring was covered with snow.  It was snow that no other horse had touched.

I thought about that for a minute and then I said Rider.

And she said What is it Huey?

And I said Rider.  I am being a standing around good horse right now.  Yes?

And she said Yes Huey you are.

So I said Well.  I could also be a rolling in the snow horse.  I am not a jacket wearing horse and I am seeing all that snow over there.  It is nicer than the snow in my paddock because no other horse has walked on it ever.

I did not think anything was going to happen because she just kept cleaning me up.  She did get a huge ice ball out of my hoof, and that was being a Good Thing.  Then she was untying me without putting my jacket on, and then we were walking over to the ring.  And she opened the gate!! And we went in!! And then she took my halter off.

I said Rider, what should I do?

And she said Huey, I thought you were wanting to roll around in the snow.

And I said Yes I am!!!!!

So she said OK, go do it then!

And I DID.  I found a perfect spot, and I laid down on that snow without my jacket on and I rolled and I rolled and I rolled.  And then I got up and walked around and ate some of the snow and made some trots.  My rider said You look beautiful Huey!!

Then I looked at the fence and I thought it was more interesting when my rider was telling me to do a bunch of stuff.  But then you know what?

I remembered something.

I remembered that interesting smell.  And I remembered that it might be something interesting for a horse.  And THEN I remembered the rule.  The rule is No treats until the jacket is back on.

And I realized I was not wearing my jacket, and you know what that meant?

Right. No treats.

But there was my rider still, standing around in the ring and watching me, and so I walked over to her and said Put the halter back on please. I want to go back in the barn.

I think she was a little surprised!  But I got the halter and we went into the barn and I got dried off and brushed some more and boots and then, the jacket.

Well, that was it!  The jacket was on!!  So I said Rider!  I am going to do the stretch and there is going to be a treat there!

But she said Huey, there is not a treat there until I make the treat there!  It does not happen just because you are doing the stretch.  I make it happen!

This was very surprising!!  I thought it just came because I did the stretch!  But no!!!

So I waited a minute and my rider went to the stretching place and put her hand in the pocket and I made the stretch and there it was.  The treat.

Only, this was not a carrot!!!   And it was not an apple!!!! It was not even a peppermint!!!

It was something else.

My rider said it was a German Horse Muffin and that Santa brought it.  I said But I am a Dutch Horse, not a German Horse.  But she said that was OK.

And that is good because this treat was DELICIOUS!!!!!  It was sweet and grainy and sticky!!  And it went all over the inside of my mouth so that even after I swallowed it it was still there!!  The whole inside of my mouth tasted like that treat!!!

I said Is there another one?

And my rider said Yes.  Do the stretch the other way.  And there it was!!  I could not believe this!!! I was still licking my mouth even by the time we went back to the paddock!  The other horses said What is that Huey? And I said It is a Special Horse Thing, of course! Because I am a Special Horse!!

I am hoping that tomorrow is another German Horse Muffin day!!

You said Carrot.

About Lori Holder-Webb

I'm a Southern Woman by birth and a Texan Woman by upbringing...and yet I find myself living in New England and married to a New York City boy. Up here we use the same currency as we do at home, and I don't need to travel with a passport, but the commonalities pretty much end there. The language is different, the jokes are different, the people are different, and the weather and terrain sure are different too. I moved away from Texas in 2002, and ever since then, I've been the stranger in the strange land... I've had some questions about the name of the blog - if you were not alive, or living abroad or under a rock, or in grad school during the late 1980s, Oldsmobile attempted to shuck its stodgy image with a series of commercials intended to bring brand appeal to the younger generation: this car, they said, is not your father's Oldsmobile. If you have a morbid curiosity, hit YouTube for William Shatner Oldsmobile...it will take you right there.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

