But It Was MINE!

Standard

I am not being a bored horse now!  I am hanging out with Shamrock, my new BFF, and eating a lot of hay, and doing a little work, and eating some grass, and everything is being very nice now!  Except the bugs are starting to come.  I hate bugs.  They make me itch and bite my belly.  They used to go in my ears, but not since I got my Wonder Horse Fly Mask, which covers my ears all up.

I was out in my paddock before and eating some hay and the bugs were biting my tummy and I was biting the bugs that were biting my belly, and then my rider came.  We were done riding so I did not know what she was doing there!  But she showed me the smelly bottle with the Bug Spray inside it and said Will you stand still and get sprayed Huey?  Or do I have to use the halter?  But I said I will stand still.  Please put that stuff on my belly so they bugs do not go there.  And she did, and I was a Very Good Horse and stood totally still for that.

We are doing more riding now.  I am getting to trot this week!!  I have not been being a trotting with a rider horse in a VERY long time!!!!!  It is feeling good, too!  I am wanting to be a cantering with a rider horse now, but my rider is saying No, it is too soon, and we have to get my back and legs nice and strong.  I say OK.  But I still want to canter around.  I am thinking maybe this is the time when my rider will be getting good enough to jump.  She is saying No, Huey, you cannot be the jumping horse any more, but that is silly.  I am always going to be a jumping horse.

Today I was thinking my rider would be coming out for a ride, but she did not.  So me and Shamrock were hanging out in the paddock and eating little pieces of hay from the ground and talking about grass.  Lemon Drop was next door.  He is a very small horse even though he is acting like a very big one sometimes!!  He is so small that he can almost go under the fence without getting ZAPPED.  I was picking up some hay, and Lemon Drop did not even say anything at all, he just started coming under the fence!!  But Shamrock said NO LEMON DROP, YOU STAY OVER THERE. And he stamped his feet on the ground.  Lemon Drop jumped up a little bit, but he was going backwards at the same time, and it was very funny!!!!  He did not try to come over to our paddock again.  Well, not for a while.

I went back to picking up hay, and the other horses said Here comes someone! But I did not care.  I was eating hay.  Then the person stood by the fence of my paddock but they did not say anything.  I looked from the corner of my eye, and you know who it was?  It was my rider.

But I did not want to work.  I just wanted to pick up little pieces of hay with my lips.  So I did not go over to see her and say Hi.  And she did not come in either, which was strange.  Usually she comes right in with the halter and then I have to stop what I am doing and go with her to work.  But not today.  It was OK because I was ignoring her.  I did not even pick my head up and look at her!!! I just said Go away rider with my body.  But she did not go away.  Shamrock went over to see her.  He does not get to play with my rider because she is a human and us horses are not supposed to play with humans.  But he does not get scratches from her either because it is for me that she comes, not for him.  

They stood around for a while, but I just kept ignoring both of them.

Then, guess what happened?

You will not guess so I will tell you.

Shamrock said something.  He said Huey. You were right. Now I am knowing those Horse Muffins really are good!

What?!?!?!?  How is that horse knowing anything about Horse Muffins?  How is that horse knowing that they are good?  I am telling him this always and showing them all chewed up to him, but he is not knowing that they are good from that.  He is just seeing that they are good from that.  But here is is, telling me now that he knows that the Horse Muffins are good?!?!?!  I do not know how this is happening.

I am picking my head up with one piece of hay in my lips and I am saying Shamrock. How are you knowing that?!?!?!

And you will not be believing what he is saying.  He is saying Your rider gave me one, Huey.  It was very good!!!

What?!?!?!?  My rider is having Horse Muffins and GIVING ONE TO SHAMROCK?!?!?!?  THOSE ARE MY HORSE MUFFINS!!!!!!!  Not for some other horse!!!!!

And then I am coming right over to that gate and saying RIDER.  You are giving one of MY Horse Muffins to Shamrock?

And she is saying Yes, Huey.  I did.

And I am saying But they are MINE.  Why are you giving them to some other horse???

And she is saying Because that horse came over here and wanted to be my friend but you were over there ignoring me.  If you think I am giving Horse Muffins to some horse who is ignoring me, you are not being a very smart horse.

But I am saying You did not tell me you had Horse Muffins.  If you told me that I would have come over!

But she is saying If you had come over you would have known about it.  But you did not.  You were not being a Friendly Horse.  And I am liking Friendly Horses better than Unfriendly Horses.  And Friendly Horses are getting things like Horse Muffins.

Oh. She was right.  I was not being a Friendly Horse.  I am not used to being a Friendly Horse.  I am used to being a Tough Horse and a Super Star Horse and a Hard Working Horse.  But just hanging out with people and other horses is not something I am knowing a whole lot about.  Sometimes I remember that I should be a Friendly Horse, like when I remember that Friendly Horses get treats and scratches and stuff.  But sometimes I forget about it, especially if there is hay right in front of me.  It is hard to think about anything but hay when it is right there.

So I said Can I have a Horse Muffin?  Please?  And she said Yes, so I got one.  And then she left!!  I stood right there by the fence just in case she might be going to come back with some more Horse Muffins, and I was going to be one Friendly Horse.  Shamrock stood there with me, because he was going to be One Friendly Horse too, and maybe get another Horse Muffin!  But then my rider is just leaving and saying Bye Huey!!

Well.  I cannot say that I will be remembering to be Friendly, but I am going to try!!

huey_and_lori04

This is me, being VERY Friendly!!

About Lori Holder-Webb

I'm a Southern Woman by birth and a Texan Woman by upbringing...and yet I find myself living in New England and married to a New York City boy. Up here we use the same currency as we do at home, and I don't need to travel with a passport, but the commonalities pretty much end there. The language is different, the jokes are different, the people are different, and the weather and terrain sure are different too. I moved away from Texas in 2002, and ever since then, I've been the stranger in the strange land... I've had some questions about the name of the blog - if you were not alive, or living abroad or under a rock, or in grad school during the late 1980s, Oldsmobile attempted to shuck its stodgy image with a series of commercials intended to bring brand appeal to the younger generation: this car, they said, is not your father's Oldsmobile. If you have a morbid curiosity, hit YouTube for William Shatner Oldsmobile...it will take you right there.

Leave a Reply

